Is there a Super Over in ODI cricket?

A Super Over is a means to decide a cricket match in instances where the teams are tied at same scores. It was introduced first in the T20 format and later in the One Day International (ODI) format.

The Super Over was first introduced in ODI during the 2011 World Cup. However, it wasn’t used in any match. In the 2015 World Cup, the Super Over rule was only reserved for an event where the final was decided through a tie.

The 2019 World Cup became the first event to employ the Super Over for the entire tournament. The final of the event became the first instance where a Super Over was used. However, since both teams scored the same number of runs, the match was decided by the controversial boundary count rule which is now defunct.

Super Over continues to be used in ODI cricket. At the World Cups, if a Super Over is tied in the group stage match, then the match is called a tie and both teams share a point each. However, in knockout rounds, a Super Over is replayed till a result is declared. The same rule applies in bilateral tournaments.

A Super Over ends when two batters are dismissed. When a Super Over is replayed, both teams are given a time period of 5 minutes between two Super Overs. The team who batted second in the last Super Over, bats first in the next Super Over. Batters who were dismissed in the previous Super Overs are ineligible to bat in the subsequent Super Overs.

Runs scored by both sides during the Super Over are not added to their original score during the routine innings. Neither are the runs of each Super Over (in scenarios where more than one Super Over is played) added together.

A Super Over continues to enthrall the spectators and is a balanced decider to contest the winner between the bat and ball.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright 2024 Betting Dog