What is the NKP Salve Challenger Trophy?

Narendra Kumar Prasadrao Salve (NKP Salve) was an Indian politician and administrator who also chaired the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in the late 1980s. He was instrumental in bringing the World Cup to the Indian subcontinent which significantly increased the growth of the sport in the region. In his honor, the BCCI decided to host a List A tournament starting in 1993.

This tournament was played between three teams, each consisting of 12 players. All 36 participating players included veterans and rising talents of the country. Initially, the names of the three teams were India Seniors, India A and India B. They were renamed to India Blue, India Red and India Green respectively in 2006. The participating teams of the 2012 edition were India A, India B and Bengal. The latter was replaced by Delhi in the following edition.

All matches of the tournament followed a 50-over format similar to a One-Day International (ODI) match. The event was played in a round-robin format where each team played the other once. The winner of a league match is awarded 4 points and no points are deducted in cases of a loss. The top two teams contested the final. In the history of the tournament, only one tie has been recorded. This was in the final of the 2011 edition of the tournament where Indian Red and India Green shared the trophy after scoring 238 runs each.

The tournament was scrapped after 2013 to pave the way for more domestic tournaments. India Seniors have won the tournament a record seven times.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright 2024 Betting Dog