What does it mean to be retired out in cricket?

The sport of cricket is a battle between the bat and ball. Batters have the task of scoring runs whereas bowlers try to restrict then by doing so. Batters ca hit a variety of shots all around the ground whereas bowlers have a range of tactics which they can use to get the batters dismissed. One such type of dismissal is retired out.

Caught out, bowled, leg before wicket, stumping, are some of the common ways of a batter’s dismissal that is credited to the bowler. A run out on the other hand is credited to the fielder. In more unusual ways of getting a batter out, one mode is ‘retired out.’

When a batter is ill, suffers from an injury, or has an unavoidable cause due to which they might have to discontinue their innings, then the batter is called retired not out. This means that at a later stage in the game, they can resume their innings.

If a batter has to retire for any other reason than the ones stated above, and if the batter decides to retire without the umpire’s permission, then they can resume their innings only if the opposition team’s captain consents. Should the batter fail to receive this consent or if they are unable to bat again, then the batter is retired out.

Retired out is a form of dismissal that is not credited to either the bowler or any fielder. Retired hurt on the other hand is not a form of dismissal. When a super over is tied, a batter who is retired out cannot bat again in the subsequent super over. However, if the batter is retired hurt, they are eligible to resume their innings. Retired hurt or retired not out are terms that are used interchangeably.

Retired out is a feature that has been seen four times in international T20 cricket, and twice in test cricket. One Day International cricket is yet to witness a player be retired out.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *