What is the French Open in badminton?

The French Open is one of the oldest tournaments of badminton. It has been held since 1908 and has featured 93 editions till 2023. It was played in the Stade Pierre de Coubertin of (Paris, France) till 2022. In 2023, the event moved out of Paris for the first time and is held in the Glaz Arena, Rennes – Cesson-Sevigne.

In 1986, the French Open became a part of the Badminton World Federation. Later, in 2007, it was promoted to be a part of the BWF Super Series tournaments, making it one of the top 12 badminton tournaments of the world. In 2018, under the new framework, the French Open became a part of the BWF Super 750 events.

The winner of the French Open gets 11,000 points. Shuttlers are featured in the French Open in all five disciplines of the sport – men’s singles, men’s doubles, women’s singles, women’s doubles and mixed doubles. Players face each other in a draw of 32 players that follows a single round knockout system. The prize money for the 2023 edition is USD $850,000.

English players have been the most successful at the French Open, winning 110 titles at the French Open across both singles, doubles and mixed doubles. George Alan Thomas and Henri Pellizza hold the record for the most men’s singles and doubles titles each (four each). In doubles, they are tied with Eddy Choong and Carsten Mogensen. Yvonne Girard is the most successful female player at the French Open, winning six singles and six doubles titles at the event. George Alan Thomas and Madeline Girard have also won the most mixed doubles titles (four each).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *