What is the Abu Dhabi T10 event?

The Abu Dhabi T10 is a cricket league tournament played in the United Arab Emirates. The tournament is known for employing the T10 format, the shortest recognised version of the sport as of 2023.

Managed by T Ten Sports, these matches feature each side playing an innings that lasts for 10 overs. The entire match lasts for 90 minutes. The first edition of the event was held in 2017.

A total of 8 teams are active in the competition as of 2023. 11 other teams who have been a part of previous editions are now defunct. A team who enters for the Abu Dhabi T10 must consist of 10 overseas players in their playing eleven. The tournament follows a double round-robin format followed by the playoff stage.

According to Cricketwa, as of 2023 September, Nicolas Pooran holds the record for scoring the most runs in the league. Dwayne Bravo on the other hand is the most successful bowler in terms of wickets taken. The tournament is yet to feature a century knock by a player. Tom Kohler-Cadmore hit the highest individual score till date (96). Sri Lanka’s Wanindu Hasaranga recorded the best bowling figures of the league when he took 5 wickets while conceding only 8 runs. In its 7 year long history, the tournament has witnessed 8 maiden overs, bowled by 8 different bowlers.

In 2018, Northern Warriors recorded the highest total in an innings, when they hit 183 against Punjab Legends. Interestingly, the following year, Northern Warriors also held the dubious record for the lowest total in a single innings when they managed only 46 runs against Qalandars. Three years hence, Northern Warriors mended their wounds by recording the highest successful chase when Moeen Ali and Kennar Lewis recorded a 146-run opening stand to win the match by 10 wickets. Northern Warriors and Deccan Gladiators are the only two teams to win the title twice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright 2024 Betting Dog