What is the Mallorca Open in tennis?

The Mallorca Open or Mallorca Championships is a professional tennis tournament that began in 2016 as a women’s event. However, the event folded in 2019. In 2021, the organizers reintroduced the event as a men’s tournament. It became a part of the ATP 250 series on the men’s professional circuit.

The outdoor grass court event is a warm-up event for all players who wish to get to Wimbledon. The main draw size for the singles event is 28. Four of these spots are held by players who got through a qualifying draw of 16, and three other spots are reserved for wildcard entrants. The doubles draw features sixteen teams, who, like the singles event, face each other in a single elimination knockout format.

All matches are played as per the conventional best of three sets format. Players need to win six games with a difference of two to win a set. Should the players reach a set score of six games apiece, then a tiebreak is played. The player or team who wins seven points first with a difference of two, wins the set. The deciding set in doubles is played as a tiebreaker. The first team to reach ten points with a difference of two is declared the winner.

The champions of the singles and doubles events get 250 points each, whereas the runner-ups get 165 points each. As of 2024, the prize pool for the event is €915,630. The singles champions receive €141,795 whereas the doubles team gets €49,260.

In its four editions held as of 2024, no player has managed to reach the men’s singles or the men’s doubles final twice. The women’s event lasted for only four editions. However, the most successful player in that tenure was Anastasija Sevastova, who reached three finals, winning the title once. A similar feat was achieved by Maria Jose Martinez Sanchez in the women’s doubles category, who reached three finals, winning the title twice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright 2024 Betting Dog