What is the Eastbourne International in tennis?

The Eastbourne International is a tennis tournament that features both men’s and women’s professional tennis tournaments since 1974. The tournament is played in outdoor grass court conditions and is played as a build-up event to Wimbledon.

The tournament is classified as a WTA 500 event on the women’s professional tennis circuit and as an ATP 250 event on the men’s tour. The draw size of the women’s singles is 32 for the main draw and 24 for the qualifying draw. The men’s singles draw size is relatively smaller with 24 for the main draw and 16 for the qualifying draw. The doubles draw size for both the men’s and women’s events is 16.

A match is played in the best of three sets format. Players win a set when they win six games with a difference of two. A tiebreak is enforced to decide the winner of the set when a set score reaches six games all. This tiebreak is won by the player who is first to win seven points with a difference of two. In doubles, the deciding set is played as a tiebreak wherein the pair who wins ten points first with a difference of two points is declared the winner of the match.

The champion player or team of the men’s event gets 250 ranking points, whereas the runner-up gets 165 points. The women’s event sees the champions get 500 ranking points and the runnes-up get 325 points.

As of 2024, the total prize money for the men’s and the women’s event is €740,160 and $922,573 respectively. The men’s singles and doubles champions get €112,555 and €39,110 respectively. The women’s singles and doubles champions receive $142,000 and $47,390 respectively.

Martina Navratilova holds the record for winning a record eleven singles titles. Pan Shriver on the other hand has been a part of the champion doubles side on a record six occasions. Taylor Fritz is the most successful men’s singles player having won three titles at the tournament. The Croatian pair of Nikola Mektic and Mate Pavic has won a record three men’s doubles titles between 2021 to 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright 2024 Betting Dog