What is the Champions League T20?

The Champions League T20 is a dormant international cricket competition that is contested between the leading domestic league teams of each nation’s premier T20 event. The teams that enter this event represent an international test playing nations.

Teams from India, South Africa, and Australia get a direct entry into this event whereas the other teams may have to go through the qualifiers. The teams qualify for the tournament based on their performances in their respective national T20 league competitions. There hasn’t been a single consistent format to the main tournament as it varies depending on the number of entrants.

Since the teams have a mix of players from different nations, there is a high probability for a player who would represent two different leagues or would represent a league team that is not from the nation he plays international cricket for. In such a scenario, if one of the teams is from the Indian Premier League, then players usually choose that team due to a higher pay. Moreover, if the player wishes to switch to another team, then he would have to forego 20% of his salary. If he chooses to represent a side of his national team, then he will also have to pay a compensation fee of at least $150,000.

Similar to the Indian Premier League, each team can feature four foreign players in their playing eleven. Teams are awarded $2.5 million for winning the tournament, $1.3 million for finishing as the runner-up, $500,000 for a third and fourth place finish, and $200,000 if they are eliminated in the group stage.

The most successful batter of the Champions League T20 is Suresh Raina, having scored 973 runs. Lasith Malinga is the most successful bowler with 69 wickets. Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians are the most successful teams having won the title twice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright 2024 Betting Dog