What is the Badminton Asia Mixed Team Championships?

The Badminton Asia Mixed Team Championships began in 2017 as a tournament to crown the best mixed national team of Asia. It is a biennial event and is held in different locations of Asia. However, the editions till 2027 will be held in Dubai. The tournament is also known as the Tong Yun Kai Cup.

A national team who enters the event must have at least an eight-member side. The four highest ranked teams are seeded. The tournament’s structure is such that it features a group stage and a knockout stage. In the group stage, each team plays the other team in its group in the round-robin format. The top two teams from each of the four groups progresses to the knockout stage.

There are five rubbers played in a match. The events of a rubber include the following matches: men’s singles, women’s singles, men’s doubles, women’s doubles and mixed doubles. Each match is played in a best-of-three sets format. The first player or pair to 21 points with a difference of two wins a set. The knockout stage features quarterfinals, semi-finals, and final.

Since the final stages of the event are played in the knockout format, the tournament awards bronze medals to two teams; the two losing sides in the semis. China is the most successful side having won three medals at the Asian Mixed Team Championships. The next best sides are Japan, South Korea, and Thailand with two medals each. India, Hong Kong, and Indonesia are tied at one medal each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright 2024 Betting Dog