What makes the Tennis Premier League unique?

The Tennis Premier League (TPL) is annual tennis league competition that is held in India. The Tennis Premier League is not managed by any official tennis organization but is supported by the All India Tennis Association, Maharashtra State Lawn Tennis Association, and Indian Wheelchair Tennis Tour.

The TPL features eight teams. Each team will have three players. Every team plays five matches in the league stage. TPL follows a scoring system that focuses on points, rather than match results.

Each league stage match will have a men’s singles, women’s singles, men’s doubles and mixed doubles match. Each match will be worth 20 points. Thus, at the end of the league stage, each team would have played 400 points. Based on the number of points they won out of 400, the top four teams progress to the knockout stages.

Every team will feature at least one Indian player who is in the Top 10 of the national rankings. A team can also feature international players. Currently, the franchise teams represent the following regions: Gujarat, Punjab, New Delhi, Mumbai, Pune, West Bengal, Bangalore, and Hyderabad. Apart from the players, a team will have a coach, mentor and a physiotherapist.

The promotion of the league has been boosted by each team having an ambassador who is either a tennis athlete or a Bollywood star. These include Leander Paes, Sania Mirza, Sonu Sood, Sonali Malaika Arora Khal, Rakul Preet Singh,

The TPL is the fifth biggest sporting league of India as per Forbes. As of 2023, it has contested five seasons. Franchise teams of Pune, Hyderabad and Bangalore have been the most successful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright 2024 Betting Dog