What is the Morocco Open in tennis?

The Morocco Open is a professional women’s tennis tournament that is played on clay courts. It is also known as the Rabat Grand Prix based on its current venue. The tournament was first played in 2001 and has been played in Casablanca, Fez, Marrakech, and Rabat.

The tournament is played in outdoor conditions and is played as a build-up event to the French Open. It is classified as a WTA 250 event and features a women’s singles and a doubles tournament. The singles tournament has a draw size of 32. The top eight players are seeded for the event, three are given wild cards and four enter through the qualifying draw. The qualifying rounds are played in the knockout format before the main draw. The doubles draw on the other hand features a draw size of sixteen.

Each match follows the conventional scoring system in a best of three sets format. In singles, if a deciding set goes to six games apiece a tiebreaker (first to seven points with a difference of two) wins the match. In doubles, the deciding set is played as a tiebreak, where the first to ten points with a difference of two is the winning team.

The winner of both the singles and doubles tournament get 250 ranking points. The runner-ups get 163 points. As of 2024, the tournament has a total prize money of $267,082. In its 22 editions contested till date, no player has won the singles title more than once. Timea Babos holds the record for winning three women’s doubles titles. Patricia Wartisch, Emilie Loit, and Iveta Benesova are the only players to win the singles and doubles title in the same year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright 2024 Betting Dog