What is the South American Cricket Championship?

The South American Cricket Championship is a limited overs continent tournament featuring national sides of South America and nations nearby it. The tournament was first held in 1995. It was held every two years before it became an annual event from 2013. In 2007, a women’s tournament was introduced which runs alongside the men’s event.

The tournament is played in a round-robin format followed by a knockout stage. In the round-robin stage, a team gets two points for a win and one point for a tied or an abandoned match. No points are deducted for a loss. If two teams are tied at the same number of points, the better team is decided by the net run-rate. The top two teams from each side progress to the semi-finals.

The latest edition in 2023 featured national team’s of Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Mexico, Panama, Peru, and Uruguay. Argentina has been the most successful side historically, winning 12 titles. In the women’s tournament too, Argentina leads the tally with 7 titles.

Former teams who participated in the tournament include Guyana, Andean Masters, Chile A, Argentina A, Puerto Rico, Ecuador, and Venezuela. Guyana, Mexico, and Chile have won the men’s title twice each. In the women’s arm of the tournament, the only team to win the event except Argentina is Brazil, who have won five titles. Canada, Chile, Mexico, and Peru are the other teams who have participated in the women’s South American Cricket Championship.

Since 2019, all the matches of both men’s and women’s tournament are given ICC status and hence are counted as T20 International matches.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright 2024 Betting Dog