What is the Fair Play award in IPL?

The fair play award is awarded in the Indian Premier League (IPL) at the end of the tournament. It is given to the team who accumulates the maximum points for playing fair and within the spirt of the game. The award thus ensures that the tournament is played in the best interests of the game.

In every match, each team is scored out of ten points for their fair play. This scoring is done by the two on-field umpires and the third umpire. There are four criteria which covers the ten points. Four points are allocated for spirit of the game. The remaining three criteria are worth two points each and are scored for respect towards the opposition, laws of cricket and the umpires.

A score of two in a criteria is considered good. A score of one or zero per criteria is considered average or bad per criteria. At the end of the tournament the team with the maximum points wins the fair play award.

Chennai Super Kings have won the maximum fair play awards. The team has won a total of 7 fair play awards since 2008. Rajasthan Royals, Sunrises Hyderabad and Mumbai Indians have won two fair play awards each. Punjab Kings and Gujarat Lions (now defunct) have won the fair play award once each. The Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers Bangalore are yet to win the Fairplay award. In 2022, a prize money of 10 lakh rupees were awarded to the team who won the fair play award. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright 2024 Betting Dog