What is the Dhaka Premier League?

Bangladesh’s most prestigious List A cricket tournament was the National Cricket One Day League that began in 2000 and was terminated in 2011. In 2012-13, the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League, also known as the Dhaka Premier League became the new top notch List A tournament for the Bangladeshi cricketers.

The tournament is governed by the Bangladesh Cricket Board. Though it has been played since 1973, the tournament gained reputation only after getting a List A status in 2013. It is played between twelve club teams of Bangladesh. As of 2024, the 12 teams are Abahani Limited, Brothers Union, City Club, Gazi Group Cricketers, Gazi Tyres Cricket Academy, Legends of Rupganj, Mohammedan Sporting Club, Partex Sporting Club, Prime Bank Cricket Club, Rupganj Tigers Cricket Club, Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club, and Shinepukur Cricket Club.

Each team plays the other in a round-robin format. Teams compete against each other to qualify for a Super League and a Relegation League. The Super League features the top six teams whereas the three bottom-most placed teams qualify for the Relegation League.

The Super League is played in the round-robin format. A win is worth two points, a loss is worth zero, and one point is awarded for a shared result, tie, or no result. The team with the most points at the end of the Super League is the champion of that edition.

In the Relegation League, each team plays the other once with the same point distribution rules. The second and the third positioned teams are relegated to the Dhaka First Division Cricket League. This is a tier below the Dhaka Premier League. The top two teams of Dhaka First Division Cricket League are promoted to the following year’s Dhaka Premier League.

Abahani Limited is the most successful team, having won four titles. As of 2024, the tournament offers 2.5 lakhs Bangladeshi Taka to the player of the tournament, highest runs scorer, and highest wicket taker. Additionally, a player of the match receives 15,000 Bangladeshi Taka.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright 2024 Betting Dog