What is the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy in cricket?

Chappell-Hadlee Trophy is a cricket series between Australia and New Zealand. It is named after the two popular cricketing families from either country. Ian Chappell, Greg Chappell, Trevor Chappell were three brothers who played for Australia, whereas Barry Hadlee, Richard Hadlee, and Dayle Hadlee were three brothers who played for New Zealand.

The idea of the trophy was conceived in 2004. The results of the two teams in limited-over fixtures decides who gets to retain the trophy. Since the 2004-05 season, the two teams have faced each other in One Day Internationals to decide the winner of the series. Starting from 2024, the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy saw the inclusion of T20 International fixtures as well.

The 2024 season will also see both teams have a points structure that will keep a track of who gets to keep the trophy. This was introduced as teams often face each other in a T20 International series either preceding or succeeding a bilateral series. Additionally, the trophy will continue to inculcate one-off limited overs matches and fixtures of tournaments organized by International Cricket Council (e.g. World Cup).

As of 2024, the two sides have faced each other in 14 series. Australia lead the series 8-4 (two series ended in a draw). 38 matches have been played between the two teams. 22 have been won by Australia, 14 by New Zealand, and two did not have any result.

No player has been awarded the man of the series twice. Former New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum holds the record for hitting the most runs in the series as of 2024 (809 runs). New Zealand’s spearhead pace bowler Trent Boult holds the record for picking up the most wickets (33) in the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright 2024 Betting Dog