What is the Bavarian Tennis Championships?

The Bavarian Tennis Championships refers to a men’s professional tennis tournament that is played on outdoor clay courts. The tournament began in 1899, making it one of the oldest surviving tournaments. It started off as a combined men’s and women’s events. However, the women’s event was discontinued in 1973.

Currently, the tournament features in the list of ATP 250 series of events. However, starting in 2025, the tournament will be a part of the ATP 500 series, wherein the winners of the event will get 500 points instead of the current 250.

The tournament features events in both the men’s singles and men’s doubles categories. The main draw size for the singles and doubles events are 28 and 16 respectively. €651,865 is the total prize pool for the event. The event serves as a build-up to the French Open for players.

Each match in the tournament is played in the best-of-three sets format. A singles match that goes to the decider will feature a tiebreak if the set score reaches 6-6. The player who is the first to reach seven points with a difference of two is declared the winner. A doubles match’s deciding set is only a tiebreaker. The pair that first manages to win ten points with a difference of two points is the winner.

Philipp Kohlschreiber is the most successful player at the Bavarian Tennis Championships having won the title thrice in the Open Era. A total of five players have won the doubles title twice – Manuel Orantes, Kevin Krawietz, Jim Pugh, Radek Stepanek, and Petra Luxa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright 2024 Betting Dog