What is the Syed Modi International in badminton?

The Badminton World Federation (BWF) supervises the global professional badminton circuit. The tournaments of BWF are divided in six levels: World Tour Finals, Super 1000, Super 750, Super 500, Super 300 and Super 100. One of the Super 300 tournaments is the Syed Modi International.

The Syed Modi International began in 1991 in memory of Commonwealth Games champion, Syed Modi. Held in Lucknow’s Babu Banarasi Das Indoor Stadium, the tournament was a national memorial event till 2003. The first participation from international players took place in 2004. Later, between 2005 and 2008 the tournament was not contested.

In 2009, the tournament was promoted as a part of the BWF Grand Prix. It was temporarily shifted to Hyderabad in 2010.  The tournament’s current status of being a Super 300 was affixed in 2017.

The tournament annually features a draw of 32 players and teams in both singles and doubles respectively. As of 2023, India has been the most country at the event, featuring 14 winners in the tournament across all disciplines of the tournament till date.

The winner gets 7000 ranking points whereas the runner-up gets 5950 points. Players from the first round of the main draw to the semifinalists get between 320 to 4900 points.

As of 2023, the tournament offers a prize money of USD $210,000. The singles and doubles champions get $15,750 and $16,590 in singles and doubles respectively. Players who finish between last 16 to runner-up get between $737 to $7980 based on their performance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright 2024 Betting Dog