What is the ATP Rosmalen Grass Court Championships?

The Rosmalen Grass Court Championships is a professional tennis tournament that began in 1990. The tournament began as a men’s event only, before introducing women’s events in 1996. On the men’s professional tennis circuit, the tournament is categorised as an ATP 250 event and poses as a build-up to the Wimbledon Championships.

The men’s event of the Rosmalen Grass Court Championships features a singles and a doubles tournament. The singles draw features 24 players in the main draw. Out of these, four qualify after winning consecutive matches in a qualifying draw of 16. Three more enter the main draw as wildcard entrants. The doubles draw on the other hand has a main draw featuring 16 doubles pairs.

All matches are played as best of three sets. A player wins a set if they win six games with a difference of two. If a set score reaches 6-6, then a tiebreak decides the outcome of the set. The first player to win seven points in this tiebreak with a difference of two wins the set. If a doubles match goes to a deciding set, then the third set is played as a tiebreak. The team who is the first to reach ten points with a difference of two points is declared the winner.

The champions of both singles and doubles categories get 250 points, whereas the runner-up in both singles and doubles get 165 ranking points. As of 2024, the tournament has a prize pool of €750,950. Out of this the champions of the singles and doubles category get €104,985 and €36,470 respectively.

Patrick Rafter and Nicolas Mahut are the most successful singles players, having won three titles each. Czech players Martin Damm and Cyril Suk have won a record five doubles titles each at the event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright 2024 Betting Dog